top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Vogrinc

Black Ice


Dear prayer warriors,

I just wanted to thank all of you for your prayers that have been getting me through this last round of chemo. Last Friday, everything went very smoothly -- from getting the IV in place to the five hours for the transmission of chemo. I am home and feeling fine, all the blood work still looks good, and I can not thank you all enough for keeping me lifted in prayer. I truly felt the presence of our Lord. I am such a chicken when it comes to all the medical things and I really needed your prayers. Thank you so much.


A friend sent us a book called "50 days of Hope". It is a book of short daily inspirations for the journey through cancer by a cancer survivor named Lynn Eib. We started the book on Thursday evening and did the devotion on Friday during my treatment. She compares getting a cancer diagnosis to hitting a patch of black ice and sliding out of control; you can't hit the brakes, and you have no choice but to land wherever it takes you. Everything she described was exactly how I feel. She talks about how she landed in the loving arms of God the Father, which gives peace and comfort. He knew the black ice was coming and He is bigger then cancer, His light is brighter than cancer's shadow of black ice, and there is always hope in Him. He was not blindsided by the patch of black ice and He can steer where you can not.


I hope this image gives you comfort in the areas of your life where you may seem out of control. Our heavenly Father is there with open arms as well, and you too will feel His peace and comfort.

Psalm 94:19 "When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul."

Thank you all for the continued prayers it means so very much to all of us.

Mary and family xxoo

265 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page