top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Vogrinc

Catch!



Dear Family and Friends,

I was reading about an author named Henri Nouwen who tells the story of a family of trapeze artists that he traveled with for a short time. When he asked one of the flyers the secret of successful acrobatic flight, the athlete gave this reply: The secret is that the flyer does nothing and the catcher does everything. When I fly..., I have simply to stretch out my arms and hands and wait for my catcher to catch me and pull me safely over the apron.... The worst thing the flyer can do is to try to catch the catcher. I am not supposed to catch. A flyer must trust, with out stretched arms that his catcher will be there for him. In the book "Trade your cares for calm" by Max Lucado he flushes this story out so beautifully about how God is the catcher; we are the flyers. We trust in Him. He is waiting to catch you, take hold of your anxieties, and trade your cares for His calm. He is waiting to catch you, nothing is too big for Him. Allow Him to take your fears and anxiety and trade your worries for His calm. This has been such a good visual for me as I continue to learn how to trust when I have no control. I see myself flying through the air with arms flapping around trying to grab hold instead of reaching out and trusting. It takes courage and faith to trust like that and it does not come easily for me. I have to say as I practice this spiritual exercise I do feel more peace and calm in my life.  Joshua 1;9 " Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid, do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go." So my goal this week is to feel the calm as I allow Him to catch me. Jesus I trust in you. Thank you all for your prayers and support, Mary and the Vogrinc family

259 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page