top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Vogrinc

Preparing For Battle


Dear friends and family,

Next Friday I return to UW for round 2 of chemo. To be very honest, I have been dreading this and feeling a little moody over the whole thing. I've also been reading a book called Searching for and Maintaining Peace by Father Jacques Philippe that had a quote from St. Catherine of Siena. "Without war there is no peace; without combat there is no victory". She was referring to a spiritual growth, where we learn to know ourselves in our weakness and to know God in His infinite mercy. But as I was working on this concept in my own life I also realized I was looking at the chemo as my enemy. This is war and the chemo is working hard for victory over this cancer.


So, I am trying to turn my thinking around and give thanks for the opportunity to receive this treatment. So many people do not have the means to receive the medical care that I have the privilege to receive. I am a little embarrassed by my pity party.


My scripture readings today took me to Joshua 8:1 "Then the Lord said to Joshua, Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Take the whole army with you and go up and attack."

All of you that have been lifting us in prayer have been our army, and I am so grateful to have you all marching alongside during this battle. I know my weakness but I also know His infinite mercy, so get your boots on we are going in for another attack.

With heartfelt Gratitude

Mary and the Vogrinc family

329 views8 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page