top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Vogrinc

Preparing for Surgery


Dear family and friends,

I write to you today to thank all of you for your constant prayers. I truly appreciate the support.  I received a call from the hospital last week that my surgery had been moved up to this Tuesday. In my mind I am so worried and afraid about what news I will wake up to after the surgery but in my heart I feel ready. I know that all of you are praying for me so there is also a sense of peace and comfort.

There are 2 scripture verses that came to me today.

St. Peter gives us a way to take care of our anxiety. "Cast all your worries upon Him because He cares for you." (1peter 5:7)

"I am the LORD, the God of all the living! Is anything too difficult for me? (Jeremiah 32:27)

There are no problems in our lives that God can not handle. God is not surprised by my illness or any of the circumstances you may encounter. He is in total control of our life and our death so we must trust in Him. This is a constant exercise I am working on in my life. None of this comes easy for me. I have been told I am a control freak. This is one of those times I would have to agree.

So in order to feel like I have some control in my life these are some of the things I have done to prepare myself for the next leg of this journey:

I have been seeing a priest as my spiritual director and he has kept me rooted in the truth of our Lords promises.This has given me great hope. 

I have been given the sacrament of the anointing of the sick. 

I have frequented the sacrament of reconciliation which has given me a great sense of peace. 

I have asked the Holy Spirit to help me feel the power of your prayers in my life and am eternally grateful to all of you.

All these things have helped me to prepare my heart for this journey.

My husband and daughter in law will post on this blog the outcome of the surgery probably Tuesday evening or Wednesday morning.

So it is with a grateful heart that my family and I want to thank all of you for being there for us through this whole journey and for your continued support. Please know that I am offering up my prayers for all of you as well.

With all our gratitude

Mary and family

407 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page