top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Vogrinc

So Many Simon's


I wanted to share a meditation that I have been reading as I have entered back into the chemo treatments after my surgery. It is called “Prayer for all who carry their cross" It is taken from Cypress Springs Mercedarian Prayer Center. "Opening the Door to Christ". I have found it to be very helpful. I have been seeing a priest for spiritual direction as I go through this journey and this last session was about how much I was dreading the rest of these treatments. Yet I have so much to be thankful for. Especially the fact that I do not have any visible cancer left at this time. So, Father John told me to take this time to really concentrate on all that I am thankful for throughout this next month. This prayer has been a wonderful aid for me.


"O my God, I thank you for this cross you have allowed me to carry. Please give me the strength and faith to persevere so that I may bring glory to your name while withstanding the burden of its weight. Thank you for offering me a share in your suffering. I know that you have always been, are now, and ever will be at my side every step of the way. Thank you for every "Simon" that you have sent to help me bear my cross."


The prayer continues but it is the part about the "Simon's" that touched me the most. I could take hours on how so many people have come forth to stay with me when I was weak and sick, the prayers that have poured in for us, the letters, cards and gifts that people have sent to give encouragement and hope. So very many of you have opened our eyes to the love and compassion that truly helped to lift our cross.


So, for all of you that read this blog please know that just knowing that you care enough to follow along on this journey with us that you are like Simon who helped carry the cross for Jesus only you are helping me to carry my cross. I am forever thankful to all of you. I have to say also that Fr. John was right this assignment has helped lift me from my pity party and I have a better attitude about moving forward thanks to all of you.


Forever grateful,

Mary and family

157 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page