top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Vogrinc

Suprising News



To all of our dear family and friends,

If you are reading this blog then you have heard the news that I am in a battle with cancer. We will be meeting with Dr. Nora here in Rockford then he is also sending me to UW of Madison for a second opinion. The details of my illness are still unfolding so I will keep all of you informed as the details become available.

For those of you who know me well you know that I have zero sense of direction. Apparently that is true for my cancer cells as well. It appears to be ovarian cancer that got lost and landed in my Peritoneal lining of the stomach area. So even my cancer cells have no sense of direction.📷

The outpouring of love, prayers and support has been amazing. We are feeling all of your prayers and it is helping all of us to see Jesus in the moment. In my prayer time today I focused on the scripture "I can do all things in Christ Jesus who gives me strength."Philippians 4:13. I have always loved this verse. The apostle Paul was teaching us to draw on God for the strength. The power we receive in union with Christ is sufficient to do His will and to face these challenges as they arise.

A few months ago I was on a silent retreat in Oshkosh and had a wonderful time drawing closer to our Lord. In the basement chapel was the picture of the annunciation that I have posted on this blog. This painting of the annunciation was done by Henry Tanner in 1897 upon returning to Paris from a trip to Egypt and Palestine. He was the son of a minister in the African Methodist Episcopal church. This painting of Mary had me captivated. Her face looks like the shock, apprehension, and questions that she must have had when being asked to be the mother of the Christ child. Her face looks like: "You want me to do what?" Yet her response was, "May it be done to me according to your word." Luke 1:38

If you could see my face, it too is going through the shock, apprehension, and questions that I see in Mary and I am trying with all my might to follow her lead. Not my will Lord but your will be done.

I know that my life is in the hands of my heavenly Father and that he is a faithful God. So I am going to get out my spiritual GPS and find the path that leads to His ways and to His will. I know I will still make some wrong turns and will have to "recalculate" but with the prayers from all of you I will find my way, for I know that "I can do all things in Christ Jesus who gives me strength."

Thank you all for your love and support

xxoo mary 

882 views12 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page